Waffle Wonders 

Welcome back!

This week we’re having our last AP biology waffle party. We started having waffle parties earlier this year when my friend called himself a “waffle making machine” in an email to my biology teacher. Because my bio teacher is amazing she decided to let us have a party in class if we planned it.

Throughout the year we’ve had maybe four waffle parties. They’re super fun and let us get out of doing work for a class period. They’re never a huge success because they aren’t that well planned but at least they’re fun. I usually try to bring something to the parties. This time I signed up to bring waffle batter.

People usually just use waffle mix you buy at stores but I decided to make batter from scratch. Usually I make buttermilk waffles but I didn’t know if my classmates would like it. So I decided to make a regular waffle recipe from one of my families favorite cookbooks, Egg.

IMG_6325.JPG

To make the batter gather the ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 Cups Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 2 Eggs
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla
  • Salt

IMG_6338.JPG

Now it’s time to MIX it all together…

  1. Mix Flour and Sugar together
  2. Melt Butter
  3. Separate Eggs
  4. Whisk in Butter, Egg Yolks and 1/3 Cup of Milk
  5. Slowly Mix in the rest of the Milk
  6. Add Vanilla
  7. Whisk Egg Whites until thick (but not peaked)
  8. Fold Whites into Batter
  9. Heat Waffle Iron
  10. Brush with Butter
  11. Add Batter and Cook until Golden Brown

IMG_6344.JPG

The batter worked great, I ended up making a quadruple batch because we always need more batter at the parties, and I had leftover to make my family waffles in the morning.

I’m really going to miss my AP Bio class, not the insane work, or the hard material, or the stress, but the fun we had in the class. All the waffle parties and the work made us grow closer as a class and I feel like I know everyone better.

I hope next year my teachers next bio class will have the same and and will make their own traditions up or carry on the ones we came up with.

IMG_6349.JPG

Leave a Reply

