Energetic Energy Bars XD

Hey,

So this week I wanted to try something new. Whenever I want to try something new I always go to Buzzfeed, I know its weird. Buzzfeed has a really cool video section called Tasty where they make quick how to videos on neat recipes. So I went on Buzfeed and I immediately say a recipe on how to make Chewy Granola Bars.

I knew this was going to be good because granola bars are always way to sugary or way to healthy and the one on Buzzfeed seemed to right in the middle. The recipe had four different ways to make it with different added flavors. Because I didn’t have the right ingredients to make all four kinds, i decided to make it with dried berries and chocolate.

IMG_6324

I was really excited at the beginning but by the end I came to the conclusion that it was a disaster. Lets find out why…

To make the recipe starts with:

  • 2 1/2 Cups of Oats
  • 2 1/2 Cups of Rice Crispy Cereal
  • 1/2 Cup of Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 Cup of Honey
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • Chocolate  Chips To Taste (~2 Cups)
  • Dried Berries To Taste
  • Chocolate For Topping

IMG_6306.JPG

To Make it…

  1. Mix Oats And Cereal
  2. Melt Honey and Oil
  3. Fold into Oats
  4. Mix in Salt and Vanilla
  5. Fold in Berries and Chips
  6. Line a Pan with Parchment Paper
  7. Pour in Mix
  8. Tamp Down until it is one layer
  9. Bake at 350 for 10mins
  10. Drizzle Chocolate on top
  11. Cut into Bars
  12. All Done!

IMG_6312.JPG

Mine Didn’t go exactly like that… First I didn’t have quite enough honey but i thought that was ok because there was already way to much, I guess it did matter because the Mix didn’t hold together. Next I had to go to a family thing for a couple hours so I left the mix in the pan for a couple hours, I think that make it too mushy or something but it also let the honey fuse to the parchment paper which lead to my next mistake. When i finally baked it i was worried about it not coming out of the pan so I poured a layer of chocolate on top so it could have a layer of chocolate, not a good idea, it never hardened and didn’t work. So when I took it out the chocolate was still melted but they’re worst thing was that the parchment paper was completely stuck to the bars.

IMG_6318.JPG

Ya… Yikes…

I got a few nice pictures with the bars I could salvage, though they were still stuck to the parchment paper.

Some recipes work out really well the first time, some do not, this one didn’t. It’s ok I was bound to get to a recipe that didn’t work, it happens to everyone. I hope someone can make this recipe work and have some yummy bars. Oh well…

Leave a Reply

