Eggstravagant Eggs

Happy Easter!!

Technically Easter was two days ago but I’m still in the spirit…

Every year on easter my family goes on a hike, this easter we woke up ate some delicious omelets made by my dad and headed out. We did a quick hike then came back down and had a great picnic on the beach.

The day before my parents had picked up delicious meats from Metropoulos Deli and after the hike we got fresh bread from Deux, a local bakery. Lunch was great and we got back just in time for me to start preparing for a little get together my friends were having.

For the mini easter party  had planned an Easter Egg Hunt, and Egg decorating and I planned to make Lemonade, Iced Tea and Deviled Eggs

IMG_6027.JPG

A lot of the ingredients came from my own yard which made everything much better. The chickens laid the eggs and the Lemons came from the lemon trees we have in our backyard.

To make Deviled Eggs you’ll need…

  • 10 Eggs
  • 1/2 Cup Mayonnaise
  • 1/8 Teaspoon Chili Powder
  • 2 Teaspoons Dijon Mustard
  • Caperberries
  • 1 Teaspoon Paprika

Start By…

  1. Hard Boil Eggs
    1. Place Eggs in Pot
    2. Fill with water
    3. Add 2 Teaspoons Baking Soda
    4. Bring to a Boil
    5. Boil for 10 Minutes
    6. Remove Eggs
    7. Crack Eggs and Place in Ice Water
  2. After the Eggs have cooled Peel the Eggs Carefully
  3. Cut Eggs in Half Vertically
  4. Remove Yolks
  5. Mash Yolks in a Bowl
  6. Add Remaining Ingredients (except for paprika and capers)
  7. Put Mixture in Piping Bag
  8. Fill each of the Eggs
  9. Sprinkle Paprika and Capers onto Eggs
  10. Enjoy!

The party was a huge success, besides my friends getting glitter literally everywhere from decorating Eggs. I’m not even sure how that much glitter got on the deck, not even everyone used glitter!

The Eggs were delicious and with the Lemonade and Iced Tea and everything my friends brought the party was a ton of fun. I can’t wait until next year when i can have my friends run around the yard again searching for the last eggs.  Apparently not even all the eggs were found, I guess they’ll have to wait to be found…

IMG_6030.JPG

Leave a Reply

