Sunny Day Smoothies

Hey Readers,

So last week I wrote about one of may favorite hot drinks, hot chocolate, today I’ll write about the best drink for a hot day. Smoothies are great because you get to make up a recipe, they always taste great and they can be really healthy. Smoothies are also a Kitchen Sink food for me where I make them out of whatever is in my fridge, freezer, and counter top. My favorite time making smoothies was right after I started this blog, I went home for lunch one day and found to surprise that my mom was working at home. I decided to throw together a smoothie for us. I made a yummy fruit smoothie, similar to the one I’ll be writing about, and we drank them together on the deck until I had to go back to school.

The other day it was way too hot, so I thought I should throw together a smoothie. Usually I do a vanilla ice cream based smoothie with milk (either strawberry, blueberry, or carrot) or a fruit based smoothie with orange juice and whatever frozen fruit I have (mango, pineapple, banana sometimes Greek yogurt…) That day I didn’t have any milk, vanilla ice cream or juice so I was in trouble. Here’s what I decided to make my smoothie out of:

  • 1 Grapefruit
  • 1/4 Cup Mango Sorbet
  • 1/4 Cup Frozen Mango
  • 1/4 Cup Frozen Pineapple
  • 2 Passion Fruits
  • Shredded Coconut

To make my Ultimate Kitchen Sink Smoothie…

  1. Put Mango, Pineapple, and Sorbet into the Blender
  2. Juice entire Grapefruit
  3. Blend Blender slowly adding Juice and Stir a lot
  4. Blend innards of one Passion Fruit
  5. Pour into a glass
  6. Add remaining Passion Fruit on Top
  7. Sprinkle Coconut on top
  8. Enjoy

The smoothie was delicious and next time I have all the ingredients I’ll definitely make it again. I had never tried that many ingredients in a smoothie before and I’m glad it turned out that well. It was absolutely perfect snack, healthy, refreshing, and not to filling. This combo if ingredients is really fun and will definitely be in my top five. Another favorite of my smoothies is a Bunny Shake. My Dad makes bunny shakes with vanilla ice cream, carrot juice and nutmeg. A healthier favorite of mine that is a little more filling is honey greek yogurt, blueberries (or mixed berries) and milk. I’m always looking for more interesting and fun smoothies so suggest for favorites for my next sunny day smoothie.

 

Leave a Reply

