Hot Drinks in Cold Weather

It’s raining it’s pouring !!!

Hey, so it’s raining in Santa Barbara, and it never rains… I always love rainy weather because it means I can stay inside, watch TV and drink loads of hot chocolate. This week my class went on a retreat to the Montecito Sequoia Lodge where we played in the snow for a few days. While we were there perfected their hot chocolate. They have a machine there that dispenses rich, sweet, amazingly, delicious hot chocolate but I wanted to make it my own. Luckily next to the machine they had a bowl of marshmallows cinnamon and nutmeg. With tons of each of these I was able to make my hot chocolate perfection, making the trip so much fun. Here’s a picture of the lodge and the all the snow.

IMG_5615.jpg

We got back Last Friday and I have been dreaming of being back there. Now that it is raining at home I think it’s the right weather for some hot chocolate again. My favorite kind of hot chocolate is the Ibarra Mexican Chocolate Mix. We have always used this for hot chocolate and it is super fast and delicious! Today I am going to compare making hot chocolate from scratch and the Ibarra Mix.

First for the Ibarra all you need is two slices of the Ibara chocolate, a cup of milk and a blender.

To make the hot chocolate:

  1. heat the milk on the stove or in the microwave, I use the microwave because it is faster for making one serving.
  2. Pour the milk and chocolate in the blender and bend on high until completely blended.
  3. Choose your favorite Mug
  4. Pour the hot chocolate into the mug
  5. Enjoy

 

Second for the from scratch hot chocolate I’m going to make it a kitchen sink hot chocolate and make up a recipe as I go… I really like making kitchen sink foods because I get to use up stuff in my pantry and it either turns out amazing or really weird and interesting. Here’s what I’ll use:

  • 1 oz Baking chocolate or chocolate chips
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 2 Tbs Half and Half or Cream
  • 2 Tbs Chocolate powder
  • 1/8 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp Nutmeg
  • Mini Marshmallows

IMG_5879

To Make this hot chocolate:

  1. Melt the baking chocolate in a saucepan over medium heat
  2. Pour in milk and cream
  3. Add chocolate powder
  4. Add Cinnamon and Nutmeg
  5. Mix until incorporated
  6. Find a cute Mug
  7. Pour chocolate into mug
  8. Add Marshmallows
  9. Sprinkle with Cinnamon and Nutmeg
  10. Enjoy

Next for the tasting I settled down on the couch and tried each one and they were both great but I think for simplicity the Ibara is better but the Kitchen Sink tastes more interesting. The great thing about the Kitchen Sink Hot Chocolate is it can be made billions of different ways, for example with peppermint at Christmas. I had a ton of fun tasting these and it made the day less gloomy, because that’s what hot chocolate is good for right?

Leave a Reply

