Apricot Bars

Heyyyyyyyyyy,

This weekend I decided to do nothing! I’ve been really tired lately and school is killing me so I wanted to relax over the weekend. My mom had scheduled a brunch with my grandfather on Saturday at 11 AM. Being me, I woke up at 10 AM so I had to scramble to get ready to leave. Once I was ready we left all met at Pacific Crepes, which is a cute little brunch spot downtown where we all had great food. By the time we had eaten then walked to the farmers marker, a Saturday morning tradition, and gone to Trader Joe’s for everything we did’t buy at the farmers market we went home. By that time it was already 3 PM! so I basically watched TV and cleaned my room until diner.

Though Saturday was fun and relaxing I had got nothing in needed to get done done. Sunday rolled around and I had to do my homework, which was not fun, but then I decided to make cookies for our new neighbors down the street, and a couple long time neighbors. I couldn’t decide what kind of cookies to make so I let my mom choose and she wanted to make apricot bars with me.

IMG_5731

Apricot Bars is a recipe we have been making for years, its essentially two layers of shortbread cookies with apricot jam in the middle, they’re not too hard too make and absolutely delicious when they’re finished! We have a mini tradition in my family where we whenever we rewrite a recipe we name it something new with the name of the person who likes it or makes it the most. For example when i really liked making blondies (chocolate-less brownies) we named them Sarah’s Favorite Blondies, or Ed Newman’s Famous Jewish Coffee Cake, or in this case Sasha and Talia’s Favorite Apricot Bars.  This recipe was the favorite of my Aunts so when we made them for her wedding we renamed the recipe, with the name of a friend of mine who would die for a batch.

Here;’s what the recipe card looks like:

       

To make this recipe get out all the ingredients;

  • 1 Cup Apricot Preserves
  • 3 T Orange Liqueur
  • 1 C Butter
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 1 t Almond Extract
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/4 C Almond Paste
  • 1/4 C Sliced Almonds

Like always start with preheating the oven at 325. Here’s a little collage of the steps of making them.

  1. Mix Apricot Preserves with Liqueur in a Small Bowl
    1. Let Sit While Making the Dough
  2. Beat Butter and Sugar
  3. Mix in Extract, Flour and Salt
  4. Take all but 1 Cup of Dough and Pat into Buttered pan
  5. Mix remaining dough in bowl with almonds and paste
  6. Spread Apricot Mixture onto dough
  7. Lightly Spread and Crumble remaining Dough into pan
  8. Gently Pat in
  9. Bake 1+ hour (until golden brown)
  10. Dust with Powdered Sugar and Let Cool

IMG_5730

They came out great and all my Neighbors appreciated them. I can’t wait to make them again!

Leave a Reply

